About Us


The Alabama Onsite Wastewater Board was created in 1999 to examine, license and regulate persons engaged in manufacture, installation or servicing of onsite wastewater systems in Alabama. This board was created to establish the qualification levels for those engaged in the manufacture, installation, servicing or cleaning of onsite wastewater systems and equipment in Alabama and promote the proper manufacture, installation and servicing of onsite wastewater systems. The AOWB currently licenses over 1200 persons who perform work in the onsite wastewater industry in Alabama.


Board Members




Name/Address Appointing Authority Term Expires Position Served
Christopher Gulley, Chairman
119 Olcott Avenue
Bridgeport, AL 35740
256-608-8771
gulleyconst@aol.com
Lt. Governor 9/30/23 Professional Installer
Sharon Kimbrough, Vice Chairman
4095 Lawson Ridge Drive #2108
Madison, AL 35757
251-533-4464
Kimbrough.sharon@gmail.com
Speaker of the House 9/30/23 Engineer
David Vogelgesang, Treasurer
1125 Peace Church Road
Wetumpka, AL 36093
334-567-9737
david.alan.vogelgesang@gmail.com
Speaker of the House 9/30/23 Consumer
Dr. Kevin White
5417 Brianne Ct
Mobile, AL 36693
251-460-6174
kwhite@southalabama.edu
Lt. Governor 09/30/22 Educator
Alan Astin
P.O. Box 697
Phenix City, Al 36868
davisconcrete1@att.net
Governor 09/30/2023  Pumper
Leigh Willis
3060 Mobile Highway
Montgomery, AL 36108
334-462-7212 office
leigh.salter@adph.state.al.us
Speaker of the House 9/30/2023 Regulator
David Mastin
2051 Cantelou Road
Montgomery, AL 36108
334-207-3525
davidmastin3@gmail.com
Governor 9/30/21 Installer
Michael T. Dansby
P.O. Box 279
Hope Hull, Alabama 36043
mdansby@alabamadumpster.com
334-288-1500
Lt Governor 09/30/22 Portable Restroom Operator
Craig Gall
P.O. Box 36
Saginaw, Alabama 35137
205-936-4863
craig@mitchellconcrete.net
Governor 9/30/21 Manufacturer

Staff

Name Title Email
Melissa A. Hines Executive Director melissa.hines@aowb.alabama.gov
Tracy Welch Executive Secretary/Licensing Specialist tracy.welch@aowb.alabama.gov
Caleb Kilpatrick Licensing Compliance Field Officer caleb.kilpatrick@aowb.alabama.gov
Joel Barnes Licensing Compliance Field Officer joel.barnes@aowb.alabama.gov